NMSU branding
New Mexico State University - All About Discovery
New Mexico State University

MOLB Location

Chemistry & Biochemistry Building
MOLB Location

MOLB Research Laboratory Bench

Workspace
MOLB Research Laboratory Bench

MOLB Research Lab

Laboratory Location
MOLB Research Lab

ABI Prism 7700

Equipment in the MOLB Lab
ABI Prism 7700

ABI 3130xL Genetic Analyzer

Looking inside the equipment in the MOLB Lab
ABI 3130xL Genetic Analyzer

ABI 3130xL Genetic Analyzer

Equipment in the MOLB Lab
ABI 3130xL Genetic Analyzer

Computer Lab White Board

White board with equation at the front of the computer lab
Computer Lab White Board

DNA Models

Large plastic models of DNA strands
DNA Models

Computer Lab

Student workspace
Computer Lab

MOLB Faculty Accomplishments (5 yr)

  • Added around 10 new faculty to the program
  • Around $2.8 million external funding/year
  • 35 peer reviewed publications/year
  • 30 invited talks/year
     

Joining the MOLB Faculty

  • Prospective faculty submit CV
  • Screened by current faculty
  • Teach MOLB courses
  • Carry out funded MOLB research
  • Mentor MOLB graduate students
  • Publish peer reviewed research
     

MOLB Faculty Directory

 

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Department / Research Area

 

 

 

 

 

Ashley, Amanda K.

Assistant Professor

ashleyak@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-2084

Biochemistry,

W372 Chemistry Bldg., MSC 3C (Lab: 329)

Area: Toxicology

 

Ashley, Ryan

Assistant Professor

ryashley@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-4135

(575) 646-5411-Fax

Animal & Range Sciences,

229 Knox Hall, MSC 3I

Area: Reproductive Physiology

Cowley, David E.

Professor

dcowley@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-1346

Department of Fish, Wildlife & Conservation Ecology, 119 Knox Hall, MSC4901 Area: Aquatic Ecology

 

Creamer, Rebecca

Professor

creamer@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3068

Entomology Plant Path & Weed Sciences (EPPWS), N248 Skeen Hall, MSC 3BE (Lab: W341)

 

Curtiss, Jennifer

Assistant Professor

Curtij01@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5611

(575) 646-5630-Lab

Biology, 203 Foster Hall, MSC 3AF (Lab: 442)

Area: Cell & Developmental Biology

Hanley, Kathryn

Associate Professor

khanley@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-4583

Biology, 479 Foster Hall, MSC 3AF (Lab: 551)

Area: Virus Evolutionary Ecology

 

Hanson, Steve

Associate Professor

shanson@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5073

Entomology Plant Path & Weed Sciences (EPPWS), N322 Skeen Hall, MSC 3BE (Lab: W321)

 

Hansen, Immo

Assistant Professor

immoh@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-7719

Biology,

Area: Molecular Vector Biology

 

Holguin, Omar

Assistant Professor

frholgui@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5813

Plant & Environmental Sciences

 

Hernandez Gifford, Jennifer

 

Associate Professor,

 

jgifford@nmsu.edu

 

(575) 646-5090

 

Animal & Range Sciences,

219 Knox Hall, MSC 3I

Area: Reproductive Physiology

 

 

 

 

 

Houston, Jessica

Associate Professor

jph@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5563

Chemical Engineering, 362 Chem. Bldg.

Area: Biomedical

 

Houston, Kevin D.

Assistant Professor

khouston@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3918

(575) 646-4427-Lab

Biochemistry, W371 Chem. Bldg., MSC 3C (Lab: 328)

 

Indriolo, Emily

Assistant Professor

indriolo@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-2175

(575) 646-2797-Lab

Biology,  477 Foster Hall MSC 3AF

Area: Plant Molecular Biology, Cell Signaling

Lodato, Patricia

Assistant Professor

plodato@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-2382

Biology, 369 Foster Hall, MSC 3AF,

Area: Microbiology

 

Lopez, Giancarlo

Assistant Professor

gclopez@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3091

Biology, 361 Foster Hall, MSC 3AF

Area: Animal Physiology

 

Lusetti, Shelley L.

Associate Professor

slusetti@nmsu.edu

 

(575) 646-6016

Biochemistry, W370 Chem. Bldg. (Lab: 330/331) MSC 3C

 

Lyons, Barbara A.

Associate Professor

blyons@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3473

Biochemistry, W373 Chem. Bldg.  (Lab: W365), MSC 3C

Area: Physical

 

Mera, Paola

Assistant Professor

mera@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-7679

Biochemistry,  Chem. Bldg., MSC 3C

Area: Toxicology

 

Milligan, Brook

Professor

brook@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-7980

Biology, 306 Foster Hall, (Lab: 308 & 306), MSC 3AF

Area:  Evolutionary Genetics

 

Nishiguchi, Michele

Professor & Associate Department Head of Biology

nish@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3721

Biology, Foster Hall, MSC 3AF

Area: Evolutionary Biology

 

Pietrasiak, Nicole

 

 

Asst. Professor, PES

 

npietras@nmsu.edu

 

(575) 646-1910

 

Plant & Environmental Sciences, N328 Skeen Hall, MSC 3Q

 

Randall, Jennifer

Research Associate Professor

jrandall@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-2920

Entomology Plant Path & Weed Sciences (EPPWS), N333 Skeen Hall, MSC 3BE

 

Ray, Ian

Professor

iaray@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3819

(575) 646-3251-Lab

Department of Plant & Environmental Sciences, 342 Skeen Hall, MSC 3Q

Area: Consumer & Environmental Sciences

Sengupta-Gopalan, Champa

Professor

csgopala@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5784

Plant & Environmental Sciences, N326 Skeen Hall, MSC 3Q  Area: Biotechnology, Plant Genetic Engineering, Molecular Biology, Alfalfa

 

Serrano, Elba

Regents Professor

NIH RISE Program Director; NIH Brain Director

Serrano@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-5217

Biology, 459 Foster Hall, (Lab: 450), MSC 3AF  

Area: Neuroscience, Biophysics

Shuster, Charles

Associate Professor

cshuster@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-1325

(575) 646-5495-Lab

 

Biology, 463 Foster Hall, (Lab: 430), MSC 3AF

Area: Cell & Developmental Biology

Smith, Geoff

Professor

gsmith@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-6080

(575) 646-3606-Lab

Biology

363 Foster Hall, MSC 3AF (Lab: 355 & 357)

Area: Environmental Microbiology

Summers, Adam

Assistant Professor

asummers@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-1549

 

Animal & Range Sciences, 326 Knox Hall

Van Voorhies, Wayne

Molecular Biologist

 

wvanvoor@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-8610

(575) 646-8769-Lab

Molecular Biology, W363 Chem. Bldg. (Lab: 357), MSC 3MLS

Area: Energy Research Lab / Metabolic Functions in Algae

Vilchis, Hugo

Director

hvilchis@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3057

Border Epidemiology & Environmental Health Center,

 

Xu, Jiannong

Associate Professor

jxu@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-7713

Biology, 469 Foster Hall, (Lab: 350), MSC 3AF  

Area: Genomics

Yukl, Erik T.

Assistant Professor

Etyukl@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3176

(575) 646-4427-Lab

Biochemistry, W376 Chem. Bldg. (Lab: 364), MSC 3C

Zhang, Jinfa

Professor

jinzhang@nmsu.edu

(575) 646-3438

Plant & Environmental Sciences, N338 Skeen Hall (Lab: W356), MSC 3Q

Area: Cotton Genetics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are no upcoming events

MOLB Contact Information

Physical Address
Molecular Biology Program
Chemistry & Biochemistry Bldg.
Room 362
New Mexico State University
1175 N Horseshoe St
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001

Mailing Address:
Molecular Biology Program
New Mexico State University
MSC 3MLS P O Box 30001
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001